Press "Enter" to skip to content

Earthquake Apocalypse Looming? Thailand’s Megacity Under Threat as Myanmar’s Sagaing Fault Rumbles!

Order Cannabis Online Order Cannabis Online

Oranuch Lorpensri, director-general of the Mineral Resources Department, highlighted the ongoing activity of Myanmar’s Sagaing Fault, which could potentially produce an earthquake with a magnitude of up to 7.5 within the next 5-10 years. The fault recently caused a magnitude-5.6 earthquake on June 19 near Myanmar’s south coast. With its epicenter located approximately 88 kilometers southeast of Pyapon in Myanmar’s Ayeyarwady Region, the earthquake was felt across numerous areas of Thailand.

In response, the Mineral Resources Department consulted with various governmental agencies, including the Meteorological Department and the Public Works and Town Planning Department of the Interior Ministry, to address any potential impacts on Thailand from earthquakes occurring in Myanmar. Following these discussions, Oranuch concluded that future seismic events caused by the Sagaing Fault could result in minor structural damage or cracked cement walls in Bangkok. However, larger buildings should not be significantly impacted due to their quake-resistant design, in compliance with the Interior Ministry’s regulations.

Aside from Myanmar’s Sagaing Fault, there are also 15 active faults within Thailand that hold the potential to create earthquakes of varying intensities, according to the Mineral Resources Department. These active faults include:

– Mae Chan Fault: Spanning 150km in length, this fault passes through the Fang and Mae Ai districts of Chiang Mai province and extends to Mae Chan, Chiang Saen, Doi Luang, and Chiang Khong districts of Chiang Rai province and into Laos.

– Three Pagodas Fault: At 200km long, this fault stretches from Myanmar to the Three Pagoda Pass in Sangkhlaburi district of Kanchanaburi province, continuing on to Thong Pha Phum, Si Sawat, and Muang districts of Kanchanaburi.

– Mae Ping Fault: Covering a 70km distance, this fault passes through Thoeng, Khun Tan, Chiang Khong, and Wiang Kaen districts of Chiang Rai province, eventually reaching Laos.

– Mae Hong Son Fault: With a length of 200km, this fault runs through Muang, Khun Yuam, Mae La Noi, and Mae Sariang districts of Mae Hong Son province.

– Lampang or Thoen Fault: This 180km-long fault passes through Muang, Sung Men, Long, and Wang Chin districts of Prae province before continuing on to Mae Tha, Sop Prap, and Thoen districts of Lampang province.

– Mae Tha Fault: At a length of 100km, this fault runs through San Kamphaeng, Prao, and Doi Saked districts of Chiang Mai province before ending in Mae Tha district of Lamphun province.

– Pua Fault: Covering a distance of 110km, this fault travels from Laos to Thung Chang, Chiang Klang, Pua, and Santisuk districts of Nan province.

– Uttaradit Fault: Spanning 130km in length, this fault passes through Fak Tha, Nam Pad, Thong Saen Khun, and Pichai districts of Uttaradit province.

– Phay Yao Fault: This fault measures 120km in length, passing through Phan and Muang districts of Chiang Rai province, Muang district of Phayao province, and Wang Nuea district of Lampang province.

– Mae Lao Fault: At a length of 80km, this fault runs through Mae Saruay, Mae Lao, and Muang districts of Chiang Rai province.

– Moei Fault: Spanning a distance of 260km, this fault passes from Myanmar to Tha Song Yang, Mae Ramad, Mae Sot, Prop Phra, Muang, and Wang Chao districts of Tak province before reaching Kosumphisai and Klong Lan districts of Kamphaeng Phet province.

– Si Sawat Fault: Measuring 220km in length, this fault runs from Myanmar to Umphang district of Tak province before continuing on to Thong Pha Phum, Si Sawat, Nong Prue, and Bo Phloi districts of Kanchanaburi province, Dan Chang district of Suphan Buri province, and Ban Rai district of Uthai Thani province.

– Ranong Fault: This 300km-long fault passes through Takua Pa and Kuraburi districts of Phang Nga province and Samran, Kapur, Muang, and La-Un districts of Ranong province before continuing on to Pato, Sawee, and Tha Sae districts of Chumphon province, as well as Bang Saphan, Bang Saphan Noi, Thap Sakae, Muang, Kui Buri, and Sam Roi Yot districts of Prachuap Khiri Khan province.

– Klong Marui Fault: Measuring 140km in length, this fault runs through Klong Marui in Thap Put district before continuing on to Takua Thung and Thai Muang districts in Phang Nga province, and then to Khirirat Nikhom, Ban Khun Tan, Vibhavadi, Tha Chang, and Chaiya districts of Surat Thani province.

– Phetchabun Fault: With a length of 150km, this fault passes through Lom Kao, Lom Sak, and Muang districts of Phetchabun province.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More from ThailandMore posts in Thailand »